|In partnership with|
HelloFresh in the Nordic countries is all about creating the perfect meal subscription box using locally-sourced, fresh ingredients for recipes that cover both local and international cuisines. The company works with their customers to uncover what’s important on a community-level in terms of flavor profiles and ingredients.
One question people often have about HelloFresh meal boxes is whether they can be suited to specific dietary needs. While there is not currently a vegan option, HelloFresh lets you choose from the following categories:
Meat & Vegetables
Fish & Vegetables
Quick & Easy
Fit & Wholesome
You can combine multiple options here. For example, it is possible to get a Family Friendly, Vegetarian, Quick & Easy meal box. is also possible to choose the menu items you want in each box, so if you’re looking to avoid or include certain ingredients, this is the best way to do it.
To make finding the right box and recipes easy, all typical allergens are listed at the top of each recipe, including gluten, soya, egg, and milk. Nutritional content is also listed, so if you’re trying to cut back on sodium, or want to increase certain vitamins and minerals in your diet, it’s easy to do.
There are 18 recipes to choose from with each subscriptions, ensuring that there is something for everyone, regardless of meal and ingredient preferences.
HelloFresh Frequently Asked Questions:
Does HelloFresh offer vegan options?
HelloFresh does not currently offer a vegan meal box option, but with small substitutions such as nut milks and dairy-free butter, their vegetarian meal boxes and recipes can easily be made vegan.
If you want to try HelloFresh and are vegan, go through the recipes carefully and find the ones that have the fewest number of substitutions. This vegetable ragu with tortiglietti, for example, has mozzarella and ricotta cheese; simply switch those out for vegan versions and voila! A simple and tasty vegan dish.
Does HelloFresh offer gluten-free options?
HelloFresh does not currently offer a specifically gluten-free meal box, but they do offer recipes that are naturally gluten-free (i.e. the recipe itself calls for no ingredients that contain gluten).
Due to the packaging process, these options are not recommended for those with severe gluten allergies or Celiac’s Disease, as HelloFresh cannot guarantee zero cross-contamination.
Does HelloFresh offer dairy-free options?
HelloFresh does not currently offer a dairy-free meal box. If, however, you choose recipes that are dairy-free, you can create your own dairy-free meal box.
Due to the packaging process, these options are not recommended for those with severe dairy allergies, as HelloFresh cannot guarantee zero cross-contamination.
Want to try HelloFresh for yourself? Use code HELLOSCANDINAVIA for a major discount off of your first 4 boxes!
Discounts by country
Denmark: Up to 725 kroner on the first 4 boxes
Sweden: Up to 965 kroner on the first 4 boxes
Norway: Up to 1099 kroner on the first 4 boxes
Click here to order your HelloFresh box with our discount code!
To find out more about partnerships, please see our Disclosure Policy.